Interview with Kristi Bentz from Lost Souls

Hi, Kristi and welcome.

Thank you. Thanks for having me.

Let’s get right down to it. You recently enrolled in All Saints College as a graduate student. Why?

It was time to go back to school and All Saints is my Alma Mater. After Hurricane Katrina hit New Orleans, I lived with my Dad and step Mom for a while, without a lot of direction. I’d been in a bad accident, nearly died and, well, when I came out of a coma, life had changed. I needed to do all the things I’d always wanted to, you know.

Let’s talk about that. The coma. When you woke up, were things different, right? How?

Yeah, well. It’s like this and I know this sounds weird, but since the “accident” as Dad refers to it, I have this gift or curse or whatever you want to call it. I can see a person’s death. I mean, in front of my eyes, that person, the one who’s going to die soon, leaches from color to shades of gray. Believe me, it’s freaky. Really freaky.

Is that right? Do you ever tell the people you see this happen to that they’re going to die?

No! I mean, what’s the point. It’s not like I can save them or anything. I did try with one girl and . . .well I couldn’t do anything. All that happened was that she was freaked out. Thought I was a major whack-job. And this vision, it’s not a hundred percent.

So, that girl, did she die?

Oh, God. Yes. Eventually. Hey, can we talk about something else?

Of Course. Tell me about your father, Rick Bentz. He’s a detective with the New Orleans Police Department, right? He’s solved some major cases involving serial killers.

He sure has. He’s a great guy. He and his partner Detective Reuben Montoya, they are really dedicated cops. But the deal is, he’s a little over-protective. I’m almost thirty and he still worries about me.

Most parents do.

I know, but, because of his job, he’s really freaked out. He knows that there are missing girls up at All Saints and he knows that I intend to become a true crime novelist and all that really messes with his head. He thinks something might happen to me.

Is he wrong? Haven’t you had a couple of near-death experiences at the hands of a killer?

Yeah, you have a point, but he shouldn’t worry, one of my teachers just happens to be someone who works with Dad. It’s a criminology class and the teacher is Jay McKnight.

Who was a boyfriend of yours?

Oh. Well, yeah. A looooong time ago.

Any old feelings being rekindled?

Who knows? I have to admit, he’s pretty hot, but we definitely have baggage. Let’s just say we’re working on it. Ask me again in a few months!

Okay, I will. So, back to the novel you plan to write. Does it have anything to do with the cults you spoke about?

I think so, yeah. I’m doing a lot of research about the cult and it’s all connected with vampires. At All Saints they have some very interesting classes, and some of them deal with vampires and the whole issue of how people are fascinated by them. It’s made an impact. There’s this group of kids on campus who seem to worship vampires. They run around with vials of blood hanging from their necks. It’s pretty darned weird, but intriguing. I think, though I can’t prove it yet, that the cult is why those girls have gone missing. It’s connected somehow.

And you intend to figure it out?

You bet. I’ve even got a myspace page dedicated to it. Look me up: Kristi Bentz.

I will. Good luck with school and the book and thanks for joining us.

Thanks for having me! It was a blast.

Posted on August 26, 2008, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off.

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

