Pub Night ~ Authors Only

Hello everyone. It’s that time once again when the pub doors open and authors can come in and take a break from their characters.

This week it’s authors only, so you don’t have to worry about any unruly characters stopping by and causing chaos. I’m the only character allowed to wander around on these nights and I’ll behave.

If you haven’t been to a pub night before this, there are rules put up on the top of this page. I’m sure you’ll get the hang of it easy.

So stop in, have a pint, and tell me about yourself.

About Nyx

Author, baker, zine maker.

Posted on May 21, 2008, in Pub Night ~ Authors. Bookmark the permalink. 22 Comments.

  1. I guess I’ll be the first to comment! I’m Lizz, and my character Madison was here at the last pub night. My novel was a product of NaNoWriMo, although it isn’t finished. I reached my 50K words, but the novel is only about 2/3 finished, and I’ve hit something of a roadblock. So my question to the other authors out there is this: How do you keep yourself motivated to finish?

  2. Hello, Liz, and welcome to the pub. I’m usually the first to say hello, but I thought I would see which shy author would like to be brave.

    As far as motivation goes, sometimes it comes with rewards. So many words = so many M&Ms. Finishing three chapters this week means a new hair cut this weekend.

    Other times, it’s a matter of habit. Sitting down for an hour (or what amount of time works for you) a day. You may not write much during that hour on some days, but it gets you into the habit of sitting there to write.

    Mini-outlining can also help. Sketching out the next few scenes loosely can give you an idea of where your going, which helps some writers to feel safe.

    That being said, what’s your poison? I’m in the mood for some Kahlua, myself.

  3. Hi Lizz and Rose!

    I heard the pub was open and thought I’d stop on in.

    Does the pub stick with Coke or Pepsi products? *hopes for Coke*

  4. I keep both Coke and Pepsi. We just don’t tell the companies. πŸ˜‰

    On the rocks or straight?

  5. Thanks for the suggestions Rose! I think I’ll probably try all of those at some point. As for a drink, I think I’d like a Sea Breeze tonight, please.

  6. Hi my name is Jenn and I ‘ll have a B-52 please.
    Like Elizabeth B, I’m having a hard time finishing my Nano. It’s more or less finished in my head but everytime I sit at the computer to write my mind goes blank.
    Sigh.
    I know a few people are encouraging me to finish but I’m finding it hard to write.
    Maybe I need to treat the rest of January like it’s Nano crunch time.
    Any suggestions?

  7. Elizabeth – It’s my pleasure.

    Sea Breeze? Yum. You are the first author to ask for one of those.

    Jenn – Hello, and welcome to the pub.

    As the old equation goes, ass + chair = writing. If it’s the monitor that’s getting to you, try sitting in front of the computer with a pad and pencil. Think about the possible ways to go from where you left off.

    Try reading over the last page or so. Sometimes when you read over the last little bit, it can help ‘warm you up’.

    It also helps if you leave writing for the day in the middle of characters’ conversations or even in the middle of a sentence. Thinking about what you were going to say next can help you start writing before you realize it.

    A B-52 for you, miss.

  8. Jenn- You could also try starting at a completely different place in the story and fitting it back in order later. I had to do that I few times during November.

  9. Excellent idea, Elizabeth.

  10. Cosmo please! Hm, about finishing things, I just take a break from the computer and start penning it, even if it’s way ahead, or just a rough outline. For some reason, ink really clears my head…though the leaving off in the middle of a sentence has been known to happen too… except the one time I spaced on what the end of the sentence *was*.

    I’ve been having issues with my characters dredging up some odd quirk of their personality, cloning themselves and then the clone jumping into some other world to fight zombies…she’s supposed to be a minor deity, but I guess it wasn’t good enough to be awesome in one world…

  11. Hello Kat! Cosmo coming up.

    Excellent advice. Taking things back to the pen and paper can be just the thing for some authors who sit staring at the computer too long.

    Clones and zombies? Sheesh.

  12. I kinda got bogged down in two chapter and someone did point out that one chapter felt like filler to her and really had nothing to do with the story in the long run. Going back and re-reading it I understand her point. Waves goodbye to 1000 words
    The other chapter is sex which I find very hard to write. That chapter I’ve decided to leave alone until the story is finally finished.
    I have a two week window to finish my story since SLOC is going away on business, so that my goal:finish this story by Feb 9.

  13. That certainly puts a push on things, doesn’t it?

    Saying goodbye to large chunks of words is never easy, but remember to keep is somewhere else. It could be useful later.

  14. Considering all the reserch I put into that part of story, yeah it hurts but I’ll keep it handy.
    asks for a nice cup of chocolate milk

  15. A cup of chocolate milk it is – another first order for this pub.

  16. Coke straight up, please. I’m a slow drinker and the ice is usually rather melted by the time I’m finished. (Yes, I’ve had a can last for two or more hours!)

    Sounds like most of us have tried NaNo a time or two. I “won” my first year and never quite finished the last two. I remain eternally hopeful though. Writing each day and sticking to plans makes the words come easier. And by sticking to plans I don’t mean outlines. I mean… if I say I’m going to go somewhere to write or have dinner prepped for my husband then I should go to that place and write and not change my mind about what’s for dinner.

    Jenn, another way to finish the novel is to just look at it in increments. “I will write 1000 words this week.” Whenever I look at the big number of how much is left I usually get deflated and discouraged. Also, feel free to write the fun parts first and later write around them.

  17. I have one more fun chapter to write and another sex scene then the drama starts. I think the angst will be the hardest stuff to write.I don’t want it coming across has over the top but I don’t want it to be flat either. I thknk the real challenge will be making it realistic.

    night all!

  18. Amber – So you’re one who likes to nurse her drink. πŸ™‚ No problems with that.

    And yes, NaNo does seem to be the common thread.

    Jenn – Jenn, be over the top in your first draft. You can always edit later.

  19. Hiya,

    I just headed over from from Nanoljers. I have a slight hangover so just a red wine to kill that please.

    I finished my novel from NaNoWriMo and am writing the next one, since it’s really one big story that I’m breaking down. But I spent yesterday in the pub with my friend who likes to edit that I had given my manuscript to with the words, ‘it’s a first draft, I know it needs editing, just tell me what you think about the plot and the characters, don’t edit it’.

    She scrawled all over the copy and made comments like ‘this sentence reads like you just wrote whatever was in your head’, ‘oh, I’ve underlined all your grammar mistakes, there’s loads’ and ‘this reads like it was written by a 15 year old girl’. I’m 26.

    Argh! Anyone else have the problem that friends and family don’t understand what a first draft is?

  20. Hi there. Welcome to the pub.

    I would never show my first draft to anyone. I would do at least one edit before putting it into the hands of others.

    I think your friend may have a red pen addiction…

  21. Hi Rose,

    Yeah I think she does have a red pen addiction. I’ve decided to not show her anything until it’s the stage where I think the grammar is OK. Then she’ll have less to scribble on.

    So, what sort of stuff do you write? I’m currently writing sci-fi.

  22. I don’t write anything. πŸ˜‰ My author has always written fantasy, but she’s now trying her hand at women’s fiction.

    Why? I have no idea.

