Officer Stacey Wilbur of Smell of Death

Interview of Officer Stacey Wilbur of Smell of Death

Q. Tell us a bit about yourself, Stacey.

Stacey: I am a widow with a four-year-old son. We live with my parents in their home in Rocky Bluff, California. I’m a police officer with the Rocky Bluff P.D.

Q. What’s Rocky Bluff like?

Stacey: It’s a small beach community south of Santa Barbara–a wonderful place to raise a child. At least it used to be.

Q. What do you mean by that?

Stacey: We’ve had a rash of crimes lately from home invasions to murders. The worst is a missing toddler. Having a child myself, my heart goes out to the family.

Q. I understand you were the first on the scene of two murders. Tell us what that was like.

Stacey: The taking of someone’s life is always horrible. I was called to investigate strange sounds coming from someone’s house. When I went inside, I discovered the body of a young mother. Thankfully, her two children were unharmed.

I was next called to an apartment house where I found another murder victim. Ironically, this person was the mother of the first victim.

One thing you don’t experience when watching TV or at the movies, is the smell at a murder scene. Once you’ve experienced it, you’ll never forget it. It’s overwhelming and something you take away with you along with the visual experience.

Q. Were you able to be in on the investigation of these murders?

Stacey: Rocky Bluff P.D. is a small department. We only have one detective, Doug Milligan, who works on many cases. Everyone on the department helps with cases like this. Because I was first on the scene of both the murders, Detective Milligan has asked me to assist him.

Q. Tell us about Detective Milligan.

Stacey: When the previous detective retired, Doug, ah, I mean Detective Milligan was promoted.

Q. H’mm. I detect you and the detective may have a closer relationship than just being co-workers. Do you want to tell us about that?

Stacey: I have a great deal of respect for him. And yes, I must admit there is a mutual attraction, but I have this rule not to date anyone on the department.

Q. That must be difficult since you are single. What about Detective Milligan?

Stacey: He’s divorced, been divorced for awhile. He has two children but doesn’t get to seem them often. He’s fond of my son, Davey, and Davey likes him.

Because I’m the only female officer right now, it has been best for me not to get romantically entangled with any of the men I work with.

Q. Do you think you might break your rule?

Stacey: I don’t know. My marriage was happy and I certainly miss having a close relationship. I’ll just have to see.

Q. What about your job? Is this something you see yourself doing for awhile?

Stacey: I love my job. I like helping people. Yes, I’m sure I’ll be a police officer in the foreseeable future.

Q. Would you ever move? Maybe take a job in a bigger department?

Stacey: I doubt that. I hope I’ll have other challenges with Rocky Bluff P.D., but I don’t see myself moving away from Rocky Bluff. I know everyone on the department and they are like family to me.

Q. Thank you for being so open with your answers. Good luck with the murder investigations and finding the missing child.

About Nyx

Author, baker, zine maker.

Posted on June 13, 2008, in Character Interview. Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on Officer Stacey Wilbur of Smell of Death.

Comments are closed.

