Interview with a Character From Beneath a Buried House

Just outside the room I stopped, noticing the heat of the summer morning with a little more intensity than I had earlier. Was I having second thoughts? Perhaps. It wouldn’t be the first time. But maybe, since the sun had risen higher in the sky in the last few minutes, the temperature had done likewise. Then again, it could be that the nervous guy beside me, who gripped my arm and guided me, as if I didn’t know where to go, had done the stopping.

He opened the door and we stepped inside. I took a seat.

“Good morning.”

He wasn’t a bad looking guy, tall with dark hair, a pleasant smile. His name was Allen Miller, a journalist for the local news.

“Thanks for the interview. I really appreciate it.”

“Sure,” I said, “but you might be premature with that, seeing as we haven’t done it yet.”

He shifted in his seat. “I see here that you don’t wish for me to use your name during the interview, mind if I ask why?”

I made him nervous. Good. I liked it that way. “Yeah. I got my reasons. Let’s just leave it at that.”

He averted his gaze for a moment, staring at the papers on the table in front of him. “I have to tell you that you caught me off guard. I mean I’ve seen the pictures. Studied them. I knew you were beautiful, but a… Let’s just say the photos don’t do you justice, not even close.” He paused. “I bet you get that a lot, don’t you?”

“Yeah. And thanks. Now, why don’t we just get started?”

He nodded, a disconcerted jerk of his head. “Sure. How long have you had this career, being a character in a book I mean?”

“Longer than you might think. Bob’s a little slow at getting his ideas on paper. We’ve known each other for years.” I paused and looked a little deeper into my interviewer’s eyes. He was as shallow as a kid’s wading pool. “I make Bob nervous too. But then again, what doesn’t?”

“Have you ever wondered if you might have done better, had you fallen in with a well known author?”

That brought a laugh out of me, a genuine release. “I wouldn’t have it any other way. Besides, I didn’t choose him. He chose me.”

“I guess that was a silly question.”

“Dumber than most.”

“Right. You seem quite poised and…” He paused and looked around the room. “well adjusted, considering all you’ve been through. Speaking of background, does that have anything to do with your request for anonymity?”

“You’re as sharp as a butter knife. Did you do well in school?”

He cleared his throat. “Sorry. But I really would like to get to know you better. What can you tell me about yourself?”

On the surface that sounded like another question without substance, I mean, he read the book, didn’t he. But it wasn’t. He knew what he was saying. And so did I. I smiled. “You never know, Allen. Stranger things have happened.”

He blushed. “How will anyone know which character you are?”

“I’m betting they’ll figure it out when they read the book.”

“I understand you had a brother?”

“Not a chance.”

Silence fell across the room, only to be broken by the sound of Allen’s fingers drumming against the table. “What about Bob, could you tell me a little bit about him?”

“Well that’s the only reason I’m here, isn’t it?” I saw the hurt in his eyes so I rephrased my statement. “What I mean is, that’s why I agreed to the interview. Now that I’ve gotten to know you better, I wouldn’t object to future meetings.”

His eyes lit up. He was starting to get my meaning. “Now,” I said, “Bob asked me to do this, and it’s out of respect that I agreed. Bob has a way of seeing through the clutter and recognizing the truth in things. He sees me as I am, knows all about me, and yet he loves me.” I paused and shook my head. “His honesty scares the crap out of me.”

Allen looked around the room. “I realize it might be difficult, but do you think there’s a chance you might show up in another of Bob’s books?”

There was little doubt in my mind now that Allen Miller would do what he could to help my situation. “Bob can’t stop thinking about me either. I’m always there, just below the surface. Keep the faith, Allen. You just never know.”

About Nyx

Author, baker, zine maker.

Posted on October 28, 2008, in Character Interview. Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Thanks for hosting day two of my tour. If anyone has any questions, I’d be happy to answer them. Thanks.

  2. Hey Bob,

    This is a great interview. Can you tell us a bit about two of the characters Kenny runs into during his investigation?

    Thanks.

    Cheryl

  3. Sure. Any particular 2?

    Bob

  4. I love that interview!! Makes me want to pick up the book and get started on it. 🙂

    Good luck with your tour!

  5. Hello Bob. Thank you for taking the time to share your book and interview with us here at The Plot. 🙂

  6. Sorry I didn’t get back here right away Bob. I’ll leave the choice up to you.

    Cheryl

