Interview with The Commander from For the Love of St. Nick by Garasamo Maccagnone

For the Love of St. NickQ: Obviously you know the story, “For the Love of St. Nick”, recalls a time in your family’s life. From your vantage point, what were you thinking about at the time?

A: I was under a lot of stress. I don’t know how I would have made it had it not been for Mrs. Pennington. She was a lifesaver!

Between the daily rigors involved in my secret mission and worrying about the boys, to this day, I don’t know how we all survived. Mrs. Pennington was like an angel sent to our family in a troubling time. Though she’s long passed, my boys and my new family pray for her weekly at Sunday Mass.

Q: Can you tell us about the secret mission?

A: I’d have to kill you.

Q: (laughing aloud) Let’s not go there then. Can you tell us about any of your secret missions?

A: The only one declassified is my reconnaissance mission over Cuba prior to the Cuban missile crisis.

Q: Tell us about that one.

A: I was one of the guys that located the missiles hidden away on the island.

Q: You did that from a plane?

A: We flew the Crusaders that took the photographs. It was sort of a no brainer after that. The missiles were pretty easy to spot.

Q: Are you open to discussing your late wife?

A: It’s not easy to talk about her. I’ve been remarried for twenty years and have systematically squeezed Hannah’s memory into a compartment far away from my every day thoughts.

Q: If it’s too uncomfortable…

A: No, no. It would not be right to not honor her at this time. All I can say is we were madly in love and times were simple and easy. I told her often that someone was always secretly filming us for our version of “Love Story.” I know it’s soppy to say that but we were in sync – in every possible way. It was a magical time living in San Diego.

Q: Do you really believe St. Nick saved your youngest son?

A: I’m not sure if they saw St. Nick or wanted to see St. Nick. All I know is that was the most magical Christmas of all time for me. You can’t imagine how little I slept while being away. The boys were my life and all that I cared for. When I returned home and they jumped in my arms, that became the miracle for me. I had too many close calls during the secret mission to not believe someone was watching over me.

There is nothing better than being together with your family on Christmas day. I am forever grateful to the good Lord and St. Nick for letting me touch the faces of my little boys again.

About Nyx

Author, baker, zine maker.

Posted on November 20, 2009, in Character Interview. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

