Interview with Michael from Cemetery Gates by Maryann Paige

I was nervous meeting him.  As he walked toward me, I could see his pain.  He smiled to me, but he wore his heart on his sleeve.  He was hurting.  It increased my nervousness.  What would I say to him?

I didn’t have to worry about starting the conversation.  He shook my hand, nodded and blurted out, “Life is hard, Maryann.”

He sat down and released a huff.  He pointed to the water in front of him.  I nodded my head as he gulped on it.

“What do you find the most difficult thing to accept in your life, Michael?”

He grabbed his glass of water again, wet his lips, smiled and said, “There’s so many things I find difficult.  I wish I had an answer as to why I was born as this.  I wish I knew how to stop being what I am.  I wish I could convince Marisa that I love her and she doesn’t belong with him.  Most of all, I wish for death.  Immortality is long, hard, boring and someone like me has too much time to think.  For hundreds of years I’ve been thinking and still have no answers.”

“Have you been able to come to terms with any of it?”

“No.  I haven’t.  I can’t.  To be born and already doomed to hell is not what I want, but it’s hard to fight what you were made for.   They don’t allow you. The others, especially my brother Shane, see me as an anomaly.  I hide, sometimes for years, but they find me.”

“Can’t you speak to your brother and make him understand?”

Michael laughed and replied, “No.  He loves the power, the darkness; the hell in which he’s been doomed to walk for eternity.  I’ve been seeking redemption for a very long time.  I often have dreams that it’s possible, but I know it isn’t.  I’m aware that I can’t be saved.  I’ve caused the death of so many millions, and I did, I did try to save who I could.”

He put his head down and sighed.  He wiped the sweat which began to form on his upper lip.

“If you could have anything, Michael, what would it be?”

He didn’t hesitate in answering, “To save my soul.”

The way he looked at me sent chills down my spine.

***
Maryann Paige
Cemetery Gates

About Nyx

Author, baker, zine maker.

Posted on December 11, 2009, in Character Interview. Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on Interview with Michael from Cemetery Gates by Maryann Paige.

Comments are closed.

