Interview with Nicole Ainsworth from Lingering Spirit by Marilyn Meredith

Nicole Ainsworth is the main character in Lingering Spirit.

Interviewer: Nicole, tell me a bit about your background.

Nicole: I’ve lived in the beach city, Channel Harbor, all my life. This is where I went to school and this is where my whole family live. I love living by the ocean.

Interviewer: I know that you’re married. What can you reveal about your husband?

Nicole: I dearly love my husband, Steve. We were high school sweethearts and got married soon after graduation. He’s a police officer for Channel Harbor P.D. I thought he loved his job, but lately he’s gotten this crazy idea in his head that he should transfer to some place in the northern part of the state and become a deputy sheriff. Believe me, I do not want to move.

Interviewer: Surely he has a good reason for wanting to do that.

Nicole: Not really. He says he has a premonition. Who believes in premonitions?

Interviewer: Obviously your husband does, or he wouldn’t want to make such a drastic move. If you don’t mind sharing, what is his premonition.

Nicole: He thinks he might die if he continues being a police man here in Channel Harbor.

Interviewer: That is kind of scary. I can see why he wants to make the move.

Nicole: But it’s foolish. We have a nice home here. And I don’t want to uproot our two little girls.

Interviewer: Tell me about your daughters.

Nicole: Kimberly is six and in first grade, Sarah is three and just started pre-school. Sarah is like her dad, stubborn and head-strong. Probably our fault—she’s so cute and we’re guilty of spoiling her. I want my girls to grow up near their grandparents and aunt and uncle.

Interviewer: What do your parents do?

Nicole: Mom and Dad run a bed-and-breakfast here in Channel Harbor. They are usually very busy, but they always find time for their grandchildren. My brother, Charles, has boys. Janice, my sister, isn’t married.

Interviewer: What about your husband’s parents?

Nicole: He really doesn’t have any. His father left when he and his sister were little. His mom died when they were still young, and his sister Rhonda was the one who raised Steve. I don’t think Steve realizes the importance of being around family.

Interviewer: Have you seen this place where your husband wants to move?

Nicole: Oh yes, nothing I’ve been able to say has changed his mind. We’ve driven up to Goldfield County and I’ve seen the house we’ll be renting. It’s really in a beautiful spot, surrounded by pine trees.

Interviewer: Sounds nice.

Nicole: But it won’t be home and I’ll be so far from everyone. I’m really going to miss my best friend, Valerie.

Interviewer: Is there anything else you’d like to add?

Nicole: I realize that I really sound whiney. I’m not happy that we’re moving, but I’ll do everything I can to make a good and pleasant home for Steve. I love him so much, I’d follow him anywhere. I can’t imagine life without him.

Interviewer: Thank you so much, Nicole, for taking time away from packing for your move to answer my questions. Good luck to you and your family, I hope everything turns out all right.

About Nyx

Author, baker, zine maker.

Posted on July 23, 2010, in Character Interview. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Thanks for hosting Marilyn again today. Nicole is a wonderful character who readers can witness go through many emotions at the sudden loss of her police officer husband. You really feel her loss of the husband she loved so dearly, which makes it even nicer when it appears she might be getting a second chance at happiness.

    Cheryl

  2. Thanks for having Nicole on you blog today. That was fun.

    Marilyn

  3. With such good questions and such focused answers, the character of Nicole became a full-fleshed person. Nice work.

    Beverly

  4. Wonderful job with the interview, Marilyn. I’ve read and enjoyed your book. The interview gives life to the character I feel I already know.

    Monti
    http://marymontaguesikes.blogspot.com/

