Interview with Obed from Little Shepherd by Cheryl Malandrinos

Today, children’s author, Cheryl C. Malandrinos is sitting down with Obed from her picture book, Little Shepherd.

Cheryl: Hello Obed, thanks for taking some time out of your busy day to talk to me.

Obed: Yes, I am very busy. The sheep require constant care if they are to stay healthy. I also must be sure wolves and thieves do not run off with them. This would hurt our family a great deal.

Cheryl: I promise this won’t take long. Now, weren’t you witness to a great event one night.

Obed: Oh, yes! It was such an amazing and beautiful thing.

Cheryl: What happened?

Obed: Father and I were out in the fields with the others guarding our sheep. The night had gotten quite cold and I shivered inside my cloak. Suddenly, a bright light appeared, and with it, an angel of the Lord.

Cheryl: Were you scared.

Obed: Yes, very much so. I had never seen anything like it before. The others fell to their knees and put their hands up to protect their eyes from the bright light.

Cheryl: What did you do?

Obed: I was too frightened to do anything but listen. I heard the angel talk about the birth of a Savior in Bethlehem, and then many angels joined the first, singing praises to God.

They left quickly and I raced over to Father, who seemed to be very happy and at peace.

Cheryl: Did your father say anything to you?

Obed: Yes, he told me and the others that we should go to Bethlehem to visit this Savior.

Cheryl: And did you?

Obed: I did not want to go at first. Who would watch over my flock while I was away? The sheep could be stolen or eaten by hungry wolves. They might wander into the rocks and get trapped.

Cheryl: But you did go, right?

Obed: I respect my father and do as he wishes, but more than that, his wise words made me feel that I needed to go.

Cheryl: What did you find when you got there?

Obed: I am certain many of your readers already know the answer to that question, but let me say, all was as the angel had told us.

I must go now. I hear the sound of many bleating sheep in the field. I must check on my flock to be sure they are safe.

Cheryl: Thank you Obed. I appreciate your time.

About Nyx

Author, baker, zine maker.

Posted on September 17, 2010, in Character Interview. Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. Thanks for hosting Obed and I today. I noticed I left behind a couple of incorrect punctuation marks. What a bad self-editor I am. 🙂 Thanks again.

    Cheryl

  2. Enjoyed the interview Cheryl. It’s such a cute story. I like this theme in the background. Everytime I see a new them at wordpress I just want to start a new blog.

  3. Thanks Becky. I’m bad about wanting to start new blogs too. Just imagine all the trouble I could get into if I had the time.

  4. I LOVE this interview! What a clever idea to interview the character of your book. You know I wish you loads of success Cheryl, but I’m sure you don’t need my best wishes as your writing will get you there.

  5. Cheryl & Obed,
    I enjoyed the interview & the sneak peek into the story.
    Blessings,
    J. Aday Kennedy
    The Differently-Abled Writer & Inspirational Speaker

  6. Nancy and Jess, thanks so much for stopping by. It means so much to me to know I can count on your support. Nancy, there is nothing like the encouragement of a friend.

    Thank you both.

    Cheryl

  7. Too cute Cheryl. Now, did you go back in time to visit him or did he travel ahead and visit you, lol. I can’t wait to read this book. Love ya!

  8. Writers are magic–almost like Santa Claus. We have a connection with our characters. 🙂

