F. M. Meredith Interviews Officer Stacey Wilbur of the Rocky Bluff Police Department

F. M.: Stacey, I understand that something very exciting is about to happen in your life is that right?

Stacey: Yes, on Saturday I’m going to become Mrs. Doug Milligan. I can hardly think about anything else but the wedding. I need to focus more on my job.

F. M.:  What is your job these days?

Stacey: I’m the head of the Vice Squad. (Laughs) I have to tell you that I am the only person on the Vice Squad. And of course I fill in with any other jobs that need to be taken care of, in the field or at my desk.

F. M.: What’s your latest case?

Stacey: Some pervert is exposing himself to females who jog along the beach. I’m going to head out there and do some jogging myself and see if I can catch him in the act.

F. M.: That sounds a bit dangerous.

Stacey: I’ll have back-up. We have a new officer who transferred here from L.A.P.D. and he’ll be observing from a hidden location.

F. M.: Let’s change the subject a bit. I’d like to know more about your romance with Detective Milligan.

Stacey: I helped Doug with two murder cases. RBPD is a small department; everyone has to help out when something major happens. At the same time, a child disappeared from her front yard and I helped with that case too. Early in my career as a police officer, I vowed never to date a police officer. Yet, there was something about Doug that made me forget about my promise.

F. M.:  It took awhile for you to get around to planning the wedding. Want to share anything about that?

Stacey: Both of us being police officers made it difficult for us to have much time together, and I also have a young son that I didn’t want to neglect. I’ve been a widow for a long time raising my son alone; I had to make sure that Davey would accept Doug.

F.M.: What does Davey think about Doug?

Stacey: He’s crazy about Doug and can hardly wait until we get married. There’s also been one more problem.

F.M.: And what’s that?

Stacey: Doug has been renting a room to another police officer, Gordon Butler, ever since Doug’s wife left him. Finding a new place for Gordon to live hasn’t been easy; however my parents came up with the perfect solution. Now, it’s just a matter of getting him moved out before Doug and I are husband and wife. Gordon is an okay guy, but I sure didn’t want to start my married life with him hanging around. Besides, Doug’s house only has two bedrooms, and Davey needs one of them.

F.M.: Tell me a bit about your wedding plans.

Stacey: We’re having the wedding at the Rocky Bluff Community Church. It’s the one my parents go to, and me too when I can. The women of the church are preparing the food for the wedding and helping with the decorations. I found the most beautiful dress right here in Rocky Bluff, light blue with simple lines made of a light, flowing material that brought the word “gossamer” to mind. It has a scoop neck and reaches just below my knees. It fits perfectly.

F.M.: I can tell you’re excited, you have a glow about you. Is there anything else you’d like to tell me?

Stacey: I love Doug with all my heart and soul. I can hardly wait to be Mrs. Milligan and spend the rest of my life with him and my son Davey.

F.M.: I wish you well and best of luck with the wedding.

***

F.M. Meredith, also known as Marilyn Meredith, is the author of nearly thirty published novels. Her latest in the Rocky Bluff P.D. crime series, from Oak Tree Press, is Angel Lost. Marilyn is a member of EPIC, Four chapters of Sisters in Crime, including the Internet chapter, Mystery Writers of America, and on the board of the Public Safety Writers of America. Visit her at http://fictionforyou.com and her blog at http://marilynmeredith.blogspot.com

Angel Lost Blurb

 

As plans for her perfect wedding fill her mind, Officer Stacey Wilbur is sent out to trap a flasher, the new hire realizes Rocky Bluff P.D. is not the answer to his problems, Abel Navarro’s can’t concentrate on the job because of worry about his mother, Officer Gordon Butler has his usual upsets, the sudden appearance of an angel in the window of a furniture store captures everyone’s imagination and causes problems for RBPD, and then the worst possible happens—will Stacey and Doug’s wedding take place?

About Nyx

Author, baker, zine maker.

Posted on March 11, 2011, in Character Interview. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Thanks for letting Stacey pay a visit to your blog today, Rose. I hope your readers will check out Angel Lost. While it is part of a series, it definitely stands well on its own; though I warn that if you read one book in the Rocky Bluff P.D. series, you’re going to want to read them all.

    Cheryl

  2. This was so much fun to do, I hope others enjoy it as much as I did.

    Marilyn (F. M. Meredith)

  3. An old fashioned wedding sounds very nice.

    Morgan Mandel
    http://morganmandel.blogspot.com

  4. It’s great to get to know a character from their perspective. Thanks for introducing us!

