Character Interview with Jim Ludlow from The Bone Trail by Nell Walton

Me:  Hi Jim, I know how busy you are and just want to thank you for taking the time to talk with us tonight.

Jim:  Glad to be here, Nell.  By the way, how’s the book doing?

Me:  I’m working on getting it off the ground, Jim.  I’m working REALLY HARD at it.

Jim:  Good to know.

Me:  OK, Jim, there’s something I want to get out in the open right now.  How do you feel about this ‘Sexiest Man in Print’ moniker you’ve been given?

Jim: <<laughs>> Well, it’s embarrassing of course. But, to be quite honest, I really don’t get it.  I’m just being myself.  And, not being boastful (my grandfather would not have approved of that), women have always seemed to find me attractive.  I’m not even sure why.  I am not what you would call a macho man and I never thought I was that good looking, but women always seemed to like me.  But, it’s what’s in the spirit that really makes up the person, isn’t it?  That’s what I think, anyway.

Me:  So, did you enjoy law school?

Jim:  I did.  I found it very challenging and learned an incredible amount.  But, to be quite honest, I don’t think I was ever cut out to be a litigator.  I do love negotiation though.  A lot of time a good negotiator can find common ground that actually makes things better for both parties involved, things they never even considered.  That’s why I always loved it.  I was good at it too, even if I do say so myself.

Me:  I know you are a recovering alcoholic.  Have you ever come close to slipping back into drinking again?

Jim:  I think every alcoholic has challenges.  I have certainly had mine.  I’ve found when my spirit is not centered – that is when I am tempted to start down the path of the walking dead again.  That’s when I reach out and get help.

Me:  How old were you when you first rode a horse?

Jim:  Hah!  I was riding in front of my grandfather on the ranch before I could walk.  At least that’s what they tell me.  I don’t remember of course, but horses have always been a part of my life. Except for a ten year period that I lived in Washington – which was pretty awful.

Me:  People keep asking for a sequel.  But, you and the others have suffered so much already; do you think you would be up to it?

Jim:  <<sighs>> If it will help the wild horses, or any of the people in Indian Country, I’m more than willing.

Me: Thanks, Jim.

About Nyx

Author, baker, zine maker.

Posted on April 8, 2011, in Character Interview. Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on Character Interview with Jim Ludlow from The Bone Trail by Nell Walton.

Comments are closed.

