Interview with Unwanted from The Weaver by Kai Strand

Today we are joined by the quirkiest character in the middle grade novel, The Weaver, by Kai Strand.

About The Weaver: In a town of word weavers, Mary suffers through her third year of Novice Word Weaving. Mary thinks her troubles are over when she meets a gnome-elf who grants her a wish.  But instead of weaving a better story, she’s weaving strange yarn charms to accompany her still pathetic tales.

Interviewer: Thank you for joining us today, Unwanted. We are so excited to get to know you better.

Unwanted: I’s be so happy in joining you’s today. Thanks you.

Interviewer: Yes…um…your speech. Let’s start with that. Where were you raised that gave you such a unique speech pattern?

Unwanted: Whats do yous mean? I’s speak the normally.

Interviewer: Right. So, Unwanted, tell us about your family. Are you close?

Unwanted: Well, my moms is a gnome. My dads is the elfy. I’s don’t know if-es theys  close or not. They mades me leaves them when I was youngs.

Interviewer: Oh, Unwanted, I’m sorry.

Unwanted: There’s-is nothing to be the sorrys for. Always the gnomeys leaves when youngs.

Interviewer: Oh, well good news then. How did you meet Mary Wordsmith?

Unwanted: Mary is a stinky humansy, but I likes her anyways. We’s met in a ditch. I gave hers a wish.

Interviewer: A wish? What do you mean?

Unwanted: Being half the elfy, I’m half the magics. I granted hers the wishes that she made. It was-es a strange wish and whens I saw her later, she was mad at the me! She yelled at me. She tolds me a story. Then she wasn’t mad any the more. Humansies!

Interviewer: Tell us, Unwanted, do you appear in Mary’s story, The Weaver, often?

Unwanted: Oh, noes. Hers story is all about telling stories. And she tells-es a really good story. The one about little seed mades me cry. Sees, I have the little seed charm heres.

Interviewer: Wow, that’s beautiful. It almost looks real. And I’m relieved you are not the narrator of the story. Tell me, do you recommend The Weaver?

Unwanted:  Oh yeses, I do! Theres is lots of stories, Mary has good stinky humansy friends, Theres is a handsomey blue gnome-elf who steals the show.

Interviewer: The show? I thought you stole Mary’s milk.

Unwanted: I founded the milkes fairs and squares!

Interviewer: Anything else you’d like to tell us about The Weaver before we finish?

Unwanted: Stinky humansies seem to really like how hards Mary works to find her stories. I’s really like the charms. Sees, here’s the bird that carried the brother aways.

Interviewer: You’re right, Unwanted, the charms are stunning. Thank you for coming in today to tell us about you and Mary and The Weaver.

Unwanted: Not a problem. I likes to talk. And I likes the charms. Sees, here’s little seed and his mother…

***

Kai Strand is a children’s author of middle grade and young adult novels. She was born and raised in the mid-west, where she inherited a wholesome outlook on life. She lived in California long enough to become a (very lucky) wife and the mother of four amazing kids. They now live in Central Oregon where the most common sound in her household is laughter. The second most common is, “Do your dishes!”

Obviously, Kai likes to write. The Weaver is Kai’s debut book. She reads a lot as well and calls it research. Kai loves to garden, and is trying out a greenhouse for the first time this year. She loves to sing. You might find her singing in Latin while browsing at Target. Most of the time she isn’t aware she’s singing aloud. She and her family love to hike and geocache. Kai walks 45 miles a month for exercise.

You can visit Kai online at www.kaistrand.com or at her blog, Strands of Thought, www.kaistrand.blogspot.com.

About Nyx

Author, baker, zine maker.

Posted on May 13, 2011, in Character Interview. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Thanks for posting this interview with Unwanted. He’s very popular with readers.

  2. Thanks for having Unwanted to your blog today. He can be a handful, but he means well.

