Interview with Fezariu from Fezariu’s Epiphany by David Brown

Fezariu, what drew you to the mercenary life?

I first learnt of the mercenary life from a man name Darius. He portrayed a romantic image of fame, fortune and a chance to see the world.  At the time it seemed an impossible dream but later it became my only option.

Tell us a story about your close friend and comrade Vintaro?

I knew from the moment I met him that he wasn’t someone you could ignore! When I was queuing to sign up to the Merelax Mercenaries, he appeared without a care in the world dressed in the most ridiculous attire and carrying a small satchel and a big mouth.

With every word he managed to offend, annoy, amuse and inspire in equal measure and in the space of an hour he had as many enemies as he had friends.  I never would have imagined a could become close to that loud, brash, comedian but I did.

And what about your mentor, General Bayard?

I met him when I first came to Archangel University aged eleven.  He immediately became my teacher, though I felt less like a pupil and more like an errand boy at first!  I realised, however, that he was improving my mind while my scrawny body caught up and testing my limits all the time.  He epitomises what a mercenary should be: disciplined,  determined and an exemplary warrior and tactician.

And his selective hearing?

This is the basis of many rumours around the university.  Those that believe he is partially deaf will tell you he was near to a cannon which exploded but others will tell you it’s merely a ruse to keep us on our toes or keep him out of politics.

You lived in a bakery for many years with your childhood friend Alycea.  Were you close?

We were born within a few months of one another and were always together.  She was my constant companion through many painful moments during my childhood.  My decision to join the Merelax Mercenaries and leave Alycea behind was the hardest I’d ever had to make.  Even now I question whether it was the right decision.

And finally, you lost your mother when you were very small. Do you have a fond memory from your childhood?

My early childhood with Alycea, my step-father Peter and mother Jessamine were filled with warm memories.  Unfortunately, I learnt as a child that these gifts should be cherished because they can so easily be taken away.

***

The White Oak, Clarendon’s oldest brothel, lured and destroyed men by the thousands. Fezariu was different. He had never been drawn by the White Oak’s vices but the brothel had still ruined him when he was just a boy.

Salvation came in the form of the Merelax Mercenaries – Elenchera’s most prestigious hired hands. They gave Fezariu the chance to escape from his past. Immersed in the world of dangerous assignments in the colonies Fezariu longed to forget everything about his childhood but only in facing the past would he ever be free of it.

Book trailer: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mPgcNNLMBvY

Podcasts http://elenchera.podomatic.com/entry/2011-06-11T10_19_08-07_00

Purchase links:
*http://www.amazon.co.uk/Fezarius-Epiphany-ebook/dp/B00515BM9W/ref=ntt_at_ep_dpi_3 (Kindle)
*http://www.amazon.com/Fezarius-Epiphany-David-Brown/dp/1456500597/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1306976466&sr=8-1 (Paperback)
*http://www.amazon.com/Fezarius-Epiphany-ebook/dp/B00515BM9W/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1306976466&sr=8-2 (Kindle)

About Nyx

Author, baker, zine maker.

Posted on July 12, 2011, in Character Interview. Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on Interview with Fezariu from Fezariu’s Epiphany by David Brown.

Comments are closed.

