Interview with Lola Savullo from Invisible by Jeanne Bannon

**As a special part of Jeanne’s tour, Invisible is available for $0.99 at Amazon.com and Smashwords from December 5th to 16th!**

Tell us a little about yourself.

I’m 18 years old and in my first year of university. I’m studying English and want to be a writer. Although living on campus seems cool, I’d still rather commute and live at home with my family. It wasn’t always this way though. A year ago, I would have killed to get out of that house and be on my own because I felt like an outcast in my own family. Mom, Dad and my sister, Eva are so unlike me. I love to read and write and they’re, well, they’re just like the cool kids in school. Mom and Dad still dress like they’re in high school and they’ve got tons of tattoos and piercings. As for my sister and I, all we ever did was fight. I used to hate her.

Oh and I have a “super power” – at least that’s what I call it. Although I haven’t used it a lot lately. My power is invisibility. At first it came and went on its own and I had no control, but after a lot of practicing with my best friend, Charlie, I was able to learn to control it. It’s very tempting to do the “wrong” thing when you have so much power.

What does it feel like when you vanish?

It doesn’t feel like anything really. When it first happened, I didn’t even realize I was gone. But with practice and by paying attention I began to know the signs for when it was about to happen and when I returned.

Where do you think you go when you vanish?

Nowhere. I can still see and hear everyone around me, they just can’t see me.

Can people hear you when you’ve vanished?

No, they can’t. It’s very frustrating.

When you say it was tempting to use your power in the wrong way, what do you mean?

Oh God, this question is hard to answer. It brings back a whole bunch of horrible emotions. High school wasn’t easy for me. I’m a big girl, tall and heavy (or used to be. I’ve lost some weight) and I was teased and bullied. Being invisible made me want revenge. I wanted nothing more than to get even with the kids at school who made my life a living hell.

Let’s end on a positive note, who was the greatest influence in your life and why?

I’d have to say that I have two great influences in my life. First is my Grandma Rose, who taught me that life can be exciting at any age and to not be afraid to go after what I want in life. She also let me in on a very exciting family secret.

The second person is my mom, Heidi. I never thought I’d say this but she’s a lot more like my Grandma, her mother than I thought. I feel closer to her now more than ever but it was a long and bumpy road.

About Nyx

Author, baker, zine maker.

Posted on December 6, 2011, in Character Interview. Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on Interview with Lola Savullo from Invisible by Jeanne Bannon.

Comments are closed.

