Interview with Nate from Nate Rocks the World by Karen Pokras Toz

Q:  So Nate – what do you want to be when you grow up?

A: I really want to be a comic book artist. I think I’m pretty good at it, and I love making up stories. I’ve actually done a few already. Maybe one day I’ll show them to you. Abby says they’re dumb, but I think they are cool.

Q: Speaking of your sister, do you two ever get along?

A: Sometimes she’s okay… I guess. Most of the time I just try to stay out of her way. She’s always in some kind of a mood – Mom says it’s just a phase, but so far this phase has been lasting as long as I can remember. Older sisters can definitely be a pain sometimes.

Q: Getting back to your comics – where do you like to draw?

A: Anywhere really – just as long as I have a pencil and a piece of paper. Sometimes I get in trouble because I’m supposed to be doing something else, but I just can’t help myself. Once I get started; I just get lost in what I’m doing.

Q: Do you get in trouble a lot?

A: Not a lot, but I have to be careful in school. There is this one girl named Lisa Crane, and she is so annoying. Her mom and my mom are best friends. One day I got in trouble for drawing in school when we were supposed to be taking a spelling test. Do you know what Lisa did? She went right home and told her mom, who of course called my mom. I mean – who does that?

Q: But there are some cool kids in your class right?

A: Oh yeah – my friend Sam is in my class, and so is my best friend Tommy. Tommy and I have been in the same class since Kindergarten, and he lives in my neighborhood. Tommy’s house is where I go whenever I need to escape my own house … and get a good meal.

Q: What do you mean? You don’t eat good meals at your own house?

A: Apparently you’ve never had my mom’s cooking! She tries and all, but no matter what she makes, there’s always something not quite right about it. Last night we had hotdogs. Easy right? Wrong! I had to chew each piece at least 100 times just to swallow it. Dad must be used to it or something because he never complains about mom’s cooking.

Q: So your Dad is pretty easy going?

A: Dad? Yeah mostly. He works a lot, but don’t ask me what he does – it has something to do with numbers and data. I used to try to ask him about it, but no matter what you ask Dad, he always ends up telling some story from his childhood that you’ve heard a million times already.

Q: Sounds like everyday is an adventure for you.

A: I guess it is. Being ten is kind of cool actually.

Nate – thanks so much for letting me interview you. You really do rock the world!

Karen Pokras Toz photo

About Karen Pokras Toz

Karen Pokras Toz is a writer, wife, and mom. Karen grew up in the small town of Orange, Connecticut and graduated from Ithaca College with a degree in Finance. She also attended the University of Richmond, where she studied law and business, receiving both a JD and an MBA. Karen has spent the last several years working as a tax accountant, writing in numbers. She recently discovered a passion for writing with words. Nate Rocks the World is her first book.

Karen is a member of the Association of Independent Authors, Independent Author Network, and The Society of Children’s Book Writers and Illustrators. She is the 2011 Arthritis Foundation Jingle Bell Run Honoree for the Eastern Pennsylvania Chapter. Karen enjoys gardening, cooking, and spending time with her husband and three children.

For more information, please visit www.karentoz.com.

About Nyx

Author, baker, zine maker.

Posted on December 16, 2011, in Character Interview. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Thanks so much for having Nate (& me) on your blog – we had so much fun!!

  2. Thanks for hosting Nate today. He’s a cool kid.

    I wanted to let your readers know that Karen is participating in tonight’s Facebook chat, where she’ll be giving away a paperback copy of Nate Rocks the World. Details are at http://www.pumpupyourbook.com/2011/11/20/pump-up-your-books-1st-annual-holiday-extravaganza-facebook-chat-party/ Hope to see you there.

    Cheryl

  3. I love this interview!! More writers should do it this way. Most interview blogs bore me to tears. This Rocks. 🙂 And Nate, be nice to your sister!

